Impossible!

Is it possible the following chess position to occur in a game?

No, it is impossible. The White’s pawn from e2 should have captured the Black’s bishop from c8. In order for the bishop to get there, the pawn on c6 should have captured one of White’s rooks. It couldn’t be the rook from h1, so it should have been the rook from a1. But in order for the rook from a1 to get to c6, the pawns from b2 and c2 should have been moved to b3 and c4 respectively. However, in that case, the bishop from f1 couldn’t get to a4, since it has been blocked before the capture e2xf3.

+ latest posts

We do not know where this puzzle originated from. If you have any information, please let us know via email.

Responses

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *